The friends you need in your life

Did you know that people without friends are more likely to die an early death?

It’s true!!!

I started thinking of all the people in my life and the ways we help and rely on each other. These are the people that lift you up when you’re feeling down, kick your butt into action when you need to get busy, listen when you need to vent and make you laugh when it is sometimes hard. Most of my friends are the wives of my husband’s friends. We meet often and are thick as thieves. Any celebration in each other’s lives is incomplete without this inner circle. I am blessed to have them in my life and I hope that I hold one of these spots in their life too.

Other than them I do have many friends who have been with me most of my life’s journey. If you have known any Aquarian in your life, then you will understand that they have more male friends than females. And 2 of my closest friends who have been a constant in my life have been males.

The Constant Companion

One such friend is someone I met 24 years back. He is my anchor. He is my go-to-person anytime, every time. I do not see him as often as I like to or even speak to him often, but he will always be a big part of my life. Luckily the distance in time and space doesn’t diminish our friendship. He lives in a different country but thanks to Messenger and WhatsApp I can connect with him anytime I want. He always brings me out of my gloominess and puts a laugh back on my face. I can share my darkest secrets with him knowing I will not be judged. He knows me like no other. I am blessed to have him in my life.

The Energizer

Years back working in an IT centric company I met this co- worker who was a bundle of live energy. It was instantaneous friendship. I moved out of the company soon after but we manage to keep in touch off and on. I didn’t know then that this friendship will last so long. Today he is one of my closest pals. Because of our busy lives, we hardly ever get time to speak. But it doesn’t really matter. When we do connect, without fail, the conversation is invigorating. It’s amazing how some people in spite of the tremendous upheavals they have gone through in their personal life have an amazing zest for life and manage to lift others up. These kinds of people are always pushing you up to achieve your goals or just keep tackling your everyday. He is one such person. Talking with him recharges my emotional battery, reminding me to stay motivated even though I want to give up. Bless him.

The Confidante

Every woman needs a “hot mess” friend—by which I mean a friend you can be a complete wreck in front of. Did you steal the cookie from the cookie jar, or cheated on your diet? Well if you did, confess only to your loyal confidant. This is the person who loves you and will always be there to hear what’s on your mind; the good, bad and ugly. Having someone in your life that you know you can go talk with and won’t judge or share your conversation is a must. More important, they will let you be emotional when you’re at a low point.  We all need a friend who hangs in there even when we’re not at our best. You can call them in the middle of the night and they will listen.

The Mentor

I have not one but 2 mentors. And I can never forget the way they helped me stand when I wasn’t even sure of sitting. They both had the wisdom and patience to believe in me and guide me in the right direction.

Jesse Jackson once said, “Never look down on someone unless you’re helping them up.”

If you have someone smart, inspiring, and admirable in your life that practices this philosophy, you’re extremely lucky. We all need a friend who inspires us to be better people without making us feel inadequate. Plus, being around such a person will challenge us to better ourselves every day.

Both my mentors have been my gurus; they have been someone I admire till date and respect them like a parent. I am inspired by their journey and use what I learned from them to get busy creating my own story.

A Work Pal

When you are in a full-time job, you spend at least 50% of your waking hours at work. That’s why it makes sense to get a work pal to chat with at the water cooler and to help you get through the week. You find it much easier to complain about work with someone who can relate to you than eating lunch alone every day. Two of my previous work pals are still a part of my life. Both these girls were someone I had clicked with on some level, and we hit it off exceptionally well. We keep in touch even today and share our good , bad and ugly times with each other and meet up every now and then. They will always remain a part of me.

The Best Friend

Ahhhhhh…. The Best friend. Your fiercest defender, your loyal confidant, your place for the honest truth, your Sidekick

Sometimes a loyal best friend is the only thing you need to stay sane. This is the kind of friend knows all of your deepest and darkest secrets, but still loves every bit of you anyway.

You might have one, or maybe a few but, when you find this person you definitely have to hold them tight. They have been there for the good, bad, ugly, and awkward. Best friends are brutally honest yet not judgemental. Best friends are the ones who can look at you from across the room and when you exchange looks know EXACTLY what you are thinking. They can decode any text or email to let you know what it really says. Best friends …..they’re special.

 

friend minion

 

Friends are the people who rock your world, and I am indeed blessed to have a handful of amazing ones.

How many do you have in your friendship circle ? Let me know in the comments section!

Cheers 

madhavi :))

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.